57 Vuelta al País Vasco

By: albertocontadornotebook

Apr 02 2017

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

The 57th edition of the Vuelta al País Vasco (Tour of the Basque Country) runs from Monday, April 3 through Saturday, April 8, 2017.

This could be called the Capital Steps edition of Pais Vasco, since the stages will start from the various capital cities of Basque region: Pamplona, Vitoria, San Sebastián, and Bilbao. The queen stage, Stage 5, ends on the iconic climb of Arrate, setting up a gripping Stage 6 time trial at Eibar on Saturday. Although the route is said to be less difficult this year, offering more opportunities for sprinters, this final stage against the clock starts with a climb and is bound to be decisive.

Alberto Contador defends the overall title this year, and will be chasing his 5th career victory in Basque Country, after winning the GC in 2008, 2009, 2014 and 2016.


Stage 1, April 3: Iruña (Pamplona) – Eguesibar-Sarriguren, 153.27 km

Stage 2, April 4: Iruña (Pamplona) – Rioja Alavesa-Elciego, 173.4 km

Stage 3, April 5: Vitoria-Gasteiz – Donostia (San Sebastián), 160.5 km

Stage 4, April 6: Donostia (San Sebastián) – Bibao, 174.1 km

Stage 5, April 7: Bilbao – Eibar-Arrate, 139.8 km

Stage 6, April 8: Eibar – Elgeta-Bergara-Eibar, 27 km (ITT)

Official website
Complete roster

Follow @Contador_Notebk for live reports
Alberto Contador Notebook 

Follow @ehitulia #itzulia @TrekSegafredo

Riding for Trek-Segafredo:

1 Alberto Contador
2 Julien Bernard
3 Andre Cardoso
4 Lauret Didier
5 Ruben Guerreiro
6 Jesús Hernández
7 Markel Irizar
8 Haimair Zubeldia

Go to Stages:

Stage 1
Stage 2
Stage 3
Stage 4
Stage 5
Stage 6

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: